ACR Distinguished Service Award

Established in 1989, this award “recognizes the dedication and devotion of a member who has served the  organization with the energy and generosity beyond the call of duty.” The award “expresses the Association's  deepest gratitude to one who has helped its members in ways that have built a stronger community of scientists  and scholars in the field of consumer research." The award is given at intervals corresponding to significant anniversaries of the association--say, for example, the 20th, 25th, 30th, 40th, 50th, etc. It is given using exactly the same procedure that characterizes the Fellows Award--i.e. via nominations from the Fellows Committee and selection by the full Board of Directors. The ACR Distinguished Service Award is completely independent from the Fellows Award in the sense that (a) it rests on different criteria (service vs. scholarship) and (b) the same person could, in theory, win both awards (but preferably not in the same year).


2018 Harold H. Kassarjian 
Don Lehmann
1989Keith Hunt

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.