2022 ACR/Sheth Foundation Dissertation Awards - Call for Proposals

2022 ACR/Sheth Foundation Dissertation Awards for

Cross-Cultural, Public Purpose and Inclusive Marketplace Consumer Research


The purpose of these awards is to support the data collection efforts of new dissertations or those in the preliminary stages of development; awards are designed for dissertation projects initiated in the academic year 2021-2022 and designed for completion in 2022-2023. This year the Sheth Foundation has kindly supported this initiative with an award of $10,000, which will be used to fund between two and four doctoral research awards. 


Eligible dissertation topics can deal with any aspect of (1) cross-cultural or global consumer behavior, (2) the public purpose of consumer research, which includes studies of social marketing issues or transformative consumer research related to individual, family, societal, or ecological well-being and (3) topics related to diversity, equity and inclusion in the marketplace. Topics in the public purpose track can range from "bright-side" issues in consumer behavior (e.g., voluntary simplicity, environmentally efficacious behaviors,  healthy eating, possession sharing/communal consumption, household saving and retirement, exercise) to "dark side" issues in consumer behavior (e.g., addictions, crime, homelessness, poverty, excessive gambling, credit card debt, obesity), and also include other general subjects such as financial literacy, health care decision making,  product safety, computer entertainment and virtual reality, elderly consumers, and handicapped consumers. The third track on diversity, equity and inclusion in the marketplace is a new addition. Currently, there is a paucity of research on issues related to racism, diversity and equity in the marketing literature. This grant hopes to encourage more marketing young scholars to pursue this topic. Topics can examine how racism, equity or inclusivity concerns affect consumer purchasing behavior and conversely, how firm marketing activities may perpetuate or mitigate such social issues.  


Ph.D. candidates at the post-comprehensive exam, dissertation stage should submit proposals no later than Friday,  July 15th, 2022. 

Proposals must be submitted using this link: https://easychair.org/cfp/2022ACR-Sheth


There is a firm limit for proposals of 12 double-spaced pages, including references and all tables/figures (12-point  font and one-inch margins). The first page should include the title and abstract but no author information. The proposal should describe the research objectives, overview the proposed methodology, and specify anticipated contributions. 


Proposals are to be submitted with a cover letter from the applicant's dissertation advisor. Please include e-mail and regular mail addresses for both the applicant and advisor. Also, the cover letter must specify the track in which the proposal is to be judged--either the cross-cultural/global track or the public purpose track. 

A committee of consumer behavior scholars will evaluate the proposals and make selection decisions. Standard selection criteria will be invoked (importance, sophistication, rigor, etc.). Particular emphasis will be placed on whether the proposed research addresses important and exciting questions about either of the two general topic areas described above. 


Awardees will be selected and notified in September 2022. Funds will be discharged shortly thereafter. Awardees will also receive a plaque at the Association for Consumer Research Conference to be held in Denver. The only stipulation in accepting this award is that the recipients acknowledge the financial contribution of the Sheth  Foundation in any forthcoming publications extending from the award. 


Please address questions you might have to Professor Sharon Ng (Nanyang Business School, Nanyang Technological University) at angsl@ntu.edu.sg

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.