2016 Early Career Award

Established in 2010, this award recognized contributions to consumer research by someone who received his/her Ph.D. within the last eight years. Each year, a panel of three ACR members is appointed by the ACR President to serve as a selection committee. The panel solicits nominations from the ACR membership, and selects one or more recipients of the award for their scholarly contributions to the field of consumer research. Criteria used to determine contribution include innovation, methodological rigor and the potential to substantially advance our understanding of consumer behavior.

The 2016 award went to Cassie Mogilner Holmes, Associate Professor of Marketing, Anderson School of Management, University of California Los Angeles. Her research examines how focusing on time (rather than money) increases happiness how the meaning of happiness changes over the course of one’s lifetime how giving time to others can alleviate the stress of being time constrained, and how happiness is derived from ordinary and extraordinary experiences.

According to Dr. Chris Janiszewski, Chair of the award committee, "Dr. Mogilner Holmes has written a number of insightful papers on how consumers initiate and manage happiness. She is the world's leading on this topic. The award reflects the tremendous influence Dr. Mogilner Holmes has had on academic and industry audiences."

Past Winners

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.