ACR members are invited to help identify potential candidates for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research. This award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at ACR 2016 to be held in October in Berlin. The award, launched in 2010, is given annually to honor the contributions of one or more consumer behavior researchers who received their PhD between 5 and 8 years ago. Last year’s winners were Vladas Griskevicius (University of Minnesota) and Juliano Laran (University of Miami). Details of the process for conferring this award are as follows.

Selection Process:
Each year, a panel of five ACR members is appointed by the ACR President to serve as a selection committee. The panel will solicit nominations from the ACR membership, and select one or more recipients of the award for their scholarly contributions to the field of consumer research. All nominees require one, and only one, nomination letter from someone not serving on the selection committee. Award selection criteria include innovation, methodological rigor, and the potential to substantially advance our understanding of consumer behavior. Once nominated, an eligible nominee will remain in active consideration for the award for three successive years. That is, a nominee in one year will automatically be included in the consideration set for the subsequent two years without the need for re-nomination.

Recipients of this award must be ACR members in good standing and should have obtained their doctoral degree between five and eight years prior to the year of the award.  Nominees for the current award must have received their PhD sometime between 2008 and 2011.

To submit a nomination for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research, nominators should provide:
‚Äč• One letter of nomination (two pages maximum length; self-nominations are acceptable). The nomination letter must come from someone not serving on the nomination committee.
• A current vita for the nominated scholar
• papers that are representative of the nominee's contribution.

All material should be submitted electronically to the Chair at

Nominees will automatically be re-considered for the award for the two years subsequent to their initial nomination, provided they are still eligible.

This year's selection committee consists of Chris Janiszewski (chair), Simona Botti, Julie Ozanne, Laura Perrachio, and Connie Pechman.

Send nominations to the chair of the committee, Chris Janiszewski (, before September 7, 2016.

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.