Nominations for the Fellow in Consumer Behavior Award

ACR members are invited to send nominations for the Fellow in Consumer Behavior Award to the Fellows Nominating Committee.  The Committee will consider nominations from the members plus any other names the Committee adds to the list.  From that list of nominees, the Committee forwards the nominations of 0-3 persons to the ACR Board.  The ACR Board of Directors then makes the decision of whether any awards should be made this year.  The goal of this process is to ensure that anyone honored as a Fellow is an obvious choice, and that almost every ACR member will agree with the selection. 

Nominees do not have to be members of ACR, but they must still be living.  Current members of ACR’s Board of Directors and Fellows Nominating Committee are not eligible for the award.

Nominations should be accompanied by a letter, up to a MAXIMUM of two pages in length, outlining the major reasons why you think your nominee meets the very high standard for the award.  The letter should include a statement saying that the nominee is unaware of your actions in nominating him or her for the award to ensure confidentiality, as well as your relationship to the nominee (e.g., co-author, colleague).  Including a copy of the nominee’s vita is strongly recommended, as long as you can provide one without the candidate’s knowledge of what you plan to use it for.

Although the Board of Directors has deliberately kept the qualifications for the award undefined, it has been stipulated over the years that the award is for a long period of scholarly productivity and contribution, not for a single or a few contributions to the field.  Service contributions are appreciated but are not the focus of this award.  (A separate award has been established for long-term service to ACR.)

Fellows and the year they received the award are:

• James F. Engel (1980)
• John A. Howard (1980)
• George Katona (1981)
• Sidney Levy (1981)
• Robert Ferber (1982)
• William D. Wells (1985)
• Harold H. Kassarjian (1985)
• Everett Rogers (1986)
• Gerald Zaltman (1990)
• Joseph Newman (1991)
• Paul Green (1991)
• James R. Bettman (1992)
• Richard Bagozzi (1993)
• Russell W. Belk (1994)
• Morris B. Holbrook (1994)
• Jacob Jacoby (1994)
• Elizabeth Hirschman (1995)
• Peter Wright (1998)
• Donald R. Lehmann (2007)
• Kent Monroe (2007)
• Brian Sternthal (2010)
• Joseph W. Alba (2010)
• John G. Lynch, Jr. (2010)
• Eric Johnson (2013)
• Itamar Simonson (2013)
• Barbara Kahn (2015)
• C.W. Park (2015)
• Alice Tybout (2015)

The Fellows Nominating Committee consists of four persons:  a Chair appointed by the current ACR President, and the three immediate past presidents of ACR.  This year the committee consists of Russ Belk (appointed chair), Amna Kirmani, Angela Lee, and Linda Price.

Deadline:  September 7, 2016.  Please email nominations to:

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.