ACR/Sheth Foundation Doctoral Symposium

Thursday October 28th, 2021
7 – 10am PST / 10am - 1pm EST / 2 – 5pm GMT / 8 – 11pm IST

 

Co-chairs:
Lea Dunn, University of Washington
Grant Packard, York University

 

Because what the world doesn't need now is more virtual lectures, this year's ACR Doctoral Symposium will be more intimate and interactive than ever… even though, yes, it’s virtual!  

How will we do it? We start with two amazing panels packed with excellent faculty speakers (details below), plus panel breakout dialogues and Q&A. Then we add all new personalized networking chats: small “conference table” sized breakouts with one of your favorite professors, plus a few students who share your interests! You’ll receive a survey by email shortly before the conference to choose some of over 40 research professors you’d like to chat with, and indicate your general research interests to facilitate our breakout “matching” process.

REGISTRATION
The symposium is open to all doctoral students for only $25. 
Just indicate that you want to attend the doctoral symposium when you complete your registration for the main conference!

 

Panel 1: Navigating Relationships as a PhD Student

7 – 8am PST / 10am – 11am EST / 2 – 3pm GMT / 8 – 9pm IST

How do you make the most of the faculty in your PhD program? And how do you avoid relationship missteps?  Hear successful advisor / advisee pairs share their secrets to starting and managing relationships during a PhD: how to manage your advisor, how to form co-author relationships, negotiating expectations about research habits and timelines, generating research ideas, dealing with conflict, and more!

Panelists: Jim Bettman & Avni Shah, Kristen Diehl & Francesca Valsesia, Mark Forehand & Sokiente Daigogo-Jack, Craig Thompson & Anil Isisag, Zak Tormala & Daniella Kupor 

 

Personalized Networking Breakout 1

8 – 8:20am PST / 11 – 11:20am EST / 3 - 3:20pm GMT / 9 – 9:20pm IST

Start building your network in our scholarly community! Chat with faculty and a handful of other students in small, pre-assigned “conference table sized” breakout rooms. We’ll send out a survey to all symposium registrants shortly before the conference. You’ll indicate faculty members of interest to you, as well as your research interests, and we’ll do our best as “matchmakers” to create great breakout rooms.

 

Panel 2: Navigating Life as an Assistant Professor

8:30 – 9:30am PST / 11:30 – 12:30pm EST / 3:30 – 4:30pm GMT / 9:30 – 10:30pm IST

You’ll soon be on your own as a newly minted professor! This panel explores life right after the job market, offering insights from new assistant professors and early associate professors. Panelists will share thoughts on maintaining productivity under new work expectations, teaching, maintaining work-life balance, and more.

Panelists: Thomas Allard, Amit Bhattacharjee, Zoey Chen, Sara Dommer, Linda Hagen, and Ravi Mehta

 

Personalized Networking Breakout 2

9:30 – 9:50 am PST / 12:30 – 12:50pm EST / 4:30 – 4:50pm GMT / 10:30 – 11pm IST

Start building your network in our scholarly community! Chat with faculty and a handful of other students in small, pre-assigned “conference table-sized” breakout rooms. We’ll send out a survey to all symposium registrants shortly before the conference. You’ll indicate faculty members of interest to you, as well as your research interests, and we’ll do our best as “matchmakers” to create great breakout rooms.

 

Questions? Email the symposium co-chairs at gpackard@york.ca and/or leadunn@uw.edu

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.