Midcareer Workshop


Midcareer Workshop: Midcareer Leadership and a Practical Guide to Get There


Co-Chairs: Markus Giesler (York University) and Rebecca Walker Reczek (The Ohio State University)


The workshop offers an opportunity for mid-career scholars to discuss important career development issues with more senior scholars.


2:00-3:00 PM             Plenary Panel: “Research Leadership: Developing a Program of Research that Changes the Field”

        • Darren Dahl, University of British Columbia
        • Ashley Humphries, Medill School of Journalism, Northwestern University
        • Michel Pham, Columbia University
        • Barbara Kahn, University of Pennsylvania
        • Carey Morewedge, Boston University


3:00-3:15 PM             Coffee Break


3:15-4:30 PM             Participants choose one of two breakout sessions:


“Midcareer Personas and Pathways”

        • Public academic: Americus Reed, University of Pennsylvania
        • Policy advisor/activist: Jeremy Kees, Villanova University
        • Dean/Dept chair: Suzanne Shu, Cornell University
        • Ph.D. mentor: Stefano Puntoni, University of Pennsylvania
        • Consultant/Advisor to industry: Andrew Stephen, University of Oxford
        • Editor/Associate editor: Zeynep Arsel, Concordia University


“Midcareer Survival Skills”

        • Choosing the right projects and managing co-author teams: Brent McFerran, Simon Fraser University
        • Work/life balance: Kelly Haws, Vanderbilt University
        • Mobility and career management: Joe Goodman, The Ohio State University
        • How to say no: Vanessa Patrick, University of Houston
        • Responsible citizenship in the field: Tiffany Barnett White, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


4:30-4:35 PM             Short Break


4:35-5:00 PM             Concluding Session: “Rebuilding Engagement with the Field Post-COVID

Engage with Us

Becoming an Association for Consumer Research member is simple. Membership in ACR is relatively inexpensive, but brings significant benefits to its members.