ACR members are invited to help identify potential candidates for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research. This award will be presented at the Awards Luncheon at ACR 2019 to be held in October in Atlanta, GA. The award, launched in 2010, is given annually to honor excellent research contributions of one or more consumer behavior researchers who received their PhD between 5 and 8 years ago. Last year’s winner was Philip Fernbach, Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado Boulder. Details of the process for conferring this award are as follows.

Selection Process:
Each year, a panel of five ACR members is appointed by the ACR President to serve as a selection committee. The panel will solicit nominations from the ACR membership, and select one or more recipients of the award for their scholarly contributions to the field of consumer research. All nominees require one nomination letter from someone not serving on the selection committee. Award selection criteria include innovation, methodological rigor, and the potential to substantially advance our understanding of consumer behavior. Nominees may be re-nominated in future years if they are still eligible, but will require an updated nomination packet (from the previous or a new nominator).

Recipients of this award must be ACR members in good standing and should have obtained their doctoral degree between five and eight years prior to the year of the award. Nominees for the current award must have received their PhD sometime between 2011 and 2014.

To submit a nomination for the ACR Early Career Award for Contributions to Consumer Research, nominators should provide:
  • One letter of nomination (two pages maximum length; self-nominations are acceptable). The nomination letter must come from someone not serving on the nomination committee.
  • A current vita for the nominated scholar.
  • Papers that are representative of the nominee's contribution.
This year's selection committee consists of: Fleura Bardhi, Jennifer Escalas, Ryan Hamilton, Robyn LeBoeuf, and Min Zhao. Send nominations to the chair of the committee, Robyn LeBoeuf (, before July 15, 2019.